top of page
Pemberton, Claire, and Grandbabies!.jpg

A Lifetime of Leading & Inspiring

Dewayne Pemberton is currently serving as State Senator for District #9 which includes Muskogee and Cherokee Counties.  He was elected in 2016 to a four year term and is up for re-election in 2020.  Pemberton is a conservative and strict constitutionalist who believes in upholding family values, promoting personal responsibility, protecting the unborn and will stand strong to protect personal liberties.  

Dewayne and his wife Claire Pemberton of 40 years have three grown children who have all served in the U.S. Army and are combat veterans.  He and Claire have four beautiful grandchildren.  Prior to entering the legislature, Dewayne spent 36 years in public education as a coach, teacher and administrator where he led and inspired thousands of students and faculty members.

Dewayne holds a Bachelor’s Degree with double majors in Social Studies and Health/Physical Education from the University of Central Arkansas in Conway where he graduated Cum Laude.  Pemberton has a Masters in Educational Administration from Northeastern State University in Tahlequah.  He has earned Principal and Superintendent Specialist Certifications from Oklahoma State University.  

Pemberton states, “I believe in a limited government, one that encourages economic prosperity by allowing the private sector to work freely.  I believe the free enterprise system is the single most effective economic system in the history of the world.  I also believe that marriage should be between one man and one woman.  We should fight to protect the life of the unborn except in rare cases required to save the life of the mother.  We should be fully aware of our states’ rights granted us by the U.S. Constitution.  

Dewayne is a Republican, member of the NRA, Muskogee and Tahlequah Chambers of Commerce, and active member of the Local GOP of Muskogee. The general election for Senate District #9 will be held in November, 2020.


Accomplishments and Awards:  

  • OSSBA /CCOSA  “Legislator of the Year” 2019 

  • Regents of Higher Education “Distinguished Service Award” 2019

  • Organization of Rural Oklahoma Schools “Legislator of the Year” 2019

  • Oklahoma Public Employee’s Association “Legislator of the Year” 2019

  • Oklahoma Sheriff’s Association “Legislative Award” 2018 & 2019

  • Oklahoma Farm Bureau 100% Club Award 2017 & 2018

  • Action in Muskogee “Education Excellence Award” 2019

  • Oklahoma School Advisory Council “Legislator of the Year” 2017

  • Met Life “National Principal of the Year” Semi-finalist 2000

  • Oklahoma State High School “Principal of the Year” 2000

  • OASSP “District Principal of the Year” 2000 & 1998                                                                                                                           

bottom of page